zondag 16 december 2012

Wake - Amanda Hocking

Wake (Watersong, #1)
Serie: Wake #1
Release date: 2012
Stars: 1/5

Gorgeous. Fearless. Dangerous. They're the kind of girls you envy; the kind of girls you want to hate. Strangers in town for the summer, Penn, Lexi and Thea have caught everyone's attention—but it’s Gemma who’s attracted theirs. She’s the one they’ve chosen to be part of their group.

Gemma seems to have it all—she’s carefree, pretty, and falling in love with Alex, the boy next door. He’s always been just a friend, but this summer they’ve taken their relationship to the next level, and now there’s no going back. Then one night, Gemma’s ordinary life changes forever. She’s taking a late night swim under the stars when she finds Penn, Lexi and Thea partying on the cove. They invite her to join them, and the next morning she wakes up on the beach feeling groggy and sick, knowing something is different.

Suddenly Gemma is stronger, faster, and more beautiful than ever. But her new powers come with a terrifying price. And as she uncovers the truth, she’s is forced to choose between staying with those she loves—or entering a new world brimming with dark hungers and unimaginable secrets.


I really like Amanda Hocking's writing style and I really am in love with her series, but this one? Not so much. The synopsis and the cover didn't speak to me at all, but I was willing to give it a change. The concept of the story was good, only the story itself was just.. well.. bad and weird. I didn't like the writing style and most of the time I didn't know which one was telling the story. There was a lot of POV switching, unnecassary I might add. I did not like the main character, Gemma. She irritated me and I thought she was kind of dumb.Then there was supposed to be a love interest going on with the main character Gemma and Alex, which I didn't get at all. It was just there, no tension or romance, really it was just weird. I did like the sister sometimes, Harper and her love interest Daniel. Other times she just annoyed me, she was like the overly protective sister or something like that. I don't really know what the story was about, nothing really happened, except for the end. Not recommended! It was just that bad!!

Opal - Jennifer Armentrout

Opal (Lux, #3)
Series: Lux #3 
Release date: 2012 
Stars: 5/5

No one is like Daemon Black. 

When he set out to prove his feelings for me, he wasn’t fooling around. Doubting him isn’t something I’ll do again, and now that we’ve made it through the rough patches, well... There’s a lot of spontaneous combustion going on.

But even he can’t protect his family from the danger of trying to free those they love.

After everything, I’m no longer the same Katy. I’m different... And I’m not sure what that will mean in the end. When each step we take in discovering the truth puts us in the path of the secret organization responsible for torturing and testing hybrids, the more I realize there is no end to what I’m capable of. The death of someone close still lingers, help comes from the most unlikely source, and friends will become the deadliest of enemies, but we won’t turn back. Even if the outcome will shatter our worlds forever.


OMG, Where is the next book, Origin? I need it, like.. right now!!! I liked Opal as much, or maybe more than Onyx. It had way more romance in it and an even sweeter and hotter Daemon in it. I really appreciated all the focus on Katy and Daemon's bond. But Daemon has grown a lot over the past 3 books. Where he was just an asshole in the first one, he was much more open in Opal. He shows a lot more emotions and he's just not the Daemon anymore that makes you want to hit him. Then there's Blake, jep he's back. I just hate him, can't believe they didn't kill him just there and than. I really love Dee, I totally understand her pain over losing Adam and how she's bitchy towards Katy. It's interesting to read about her thirst for revenge and how she deals with everything throughout Opal. The plot was mostly about the group plotting something and mostly about the characters. I really am intrigued with Luc and Paris. What kills me the most about Opal is the end, what a HUGE KILLER CLIFHANGER ENDING! My god I don't know how I'm going to survivi with just my imagination till Origin comes out. Especially the vulnerable side of Daemon at the end is just heartbreaking, and yeah kinda sweet. I really don't know if I should recommend to read it right now, because you just want to hit something because of the end! But hell what a great book!

vrijdag 14 december 2012

Deity - Jennifer Armentrout

Deity (Covenant, #3)
Serie: Covenant #3
Release date: 2012
Stars: 5/5

Alexandria isn't sure she's going to make it to her eighteenth birthday--to her Awakening. A long-forgotten, fanatical order is out to kill her, and if the Council ever discovers what she did in the Catskills, she's a goner... and so is Aiden.

If that's not freaky enough, whenever Alex and Seth spend time "training"--which really is just Seth's code word for some up-close and personal one-on-one time--she ends up with another mark of the Apollyon, which brings her one step closer to Awakening ahead of schedule. Awesome.

But as her birthday draws near, her entire world shatters with a startling revelation and she's caught between love and Fate. One will do anything to protect her. One has been lying to her since the beginning. Once the gods have revealed themselves, unleashing their wrath, lives will be irrevocably changed... and destroyed.
 

I can't believe I haven't reviewed Deity yet! The covenant series is one of my favorite series and Deity didn't disappoint!The characters, the plot, the twists and turns and finally the huge cliffhanger were just amazing! Then ofcourse there is the humor and the love which makes Deity so much more than just a good book. The characters are so amazing, they make the story awesome! I really like the main character Alex, she's tough, but she can also be sweet and a little emotional. She's grown a lot trought the Covenant series. You just know that she's destined for greatness. You read about her struggling with her upcoming birthday and thus the upcoming Awakening and you feel just unfair about it all. It's so easy to relate to Alex. And then ofcourse you feel her heartbreak over Aiden and everything is just so hard for her, but she makes everything work out some how. I still like Seth, he's just such a cuddle buddy, but he has a lot of secrets of his own. I really want to figure him out and want to see the good in him, like Alex does. Then ofcourse there is Aiden, can someone love him more? This book just made him that more awesome! I'm team Aiden all the way! Deity is just epic on so many levels! You just have to read it!

donderdag 13 december 2012

The Lost Prince - Julie Kagawa

The Lost Prince (The Iron Fey: Call of the Forgotten, #1)
Series: The Iron Fey: Call of the Forgotten #1
Release date: 2012
Stars: 4/5

Don’t look at Them. Never let Them know you can see Them. 

That is Ethan Chase’s unbreakable rule. Until the fey he avoids at all costs—including his reputation—begin to disappear, and Ethan is attacked. Now he must change the rules to protect his family. To save a girl he never thought he’d dare to fall for.

Ethan thought he had protected himself from his older sister’s world—the land of Faery. His previous time in the Iron Realm left him with nothing but fear and disgust for the world Meghan Chase has made her home, a land of myth and talking cats, of magic and seductive enemies. But when destiny comes for Ethan, there is no escape from a danger long, long forgotten.

Julie Kawaga has done it again. I was once again sucked into the world of the Iron Fey. The Lost Prince is a spin-off of Ethan, the little brother of Megan from my favorite serie the Iron Fey. I really really enjoyed this book. I loved to hear from Ethan and has he grown up! Though his story is very sad, dark en depressing, I really liked to know how his life was en how his journey took place. I really liked the new characters and that they got the main attention. Sure we got to meet the old characters again and I really enjoyed that. There can never be too much of Puck, right?! But the story is about Ethan and the new characters. Ethan has changed a lot.. He hates the fairies', because they kind of destroyed his life. But then Ethan gets involved with a new kind of fairies, 'The Forgotten' and he finds himself in the Nevernever. From there of on his journey begins. You can see him change and you relate so easily with him. There is a lot of action, new friendships and ofcourse there is a love interest! Then there is this interesting character Keirran, I'm not gonna spoil who that is, but gosh I loved him and I had it spot on with my speculations about who he was. All I want to way is that if you love the Iron fey series, you just have to read the Lost Prince!

dinsdag 30 oktober 2012

Captive in the Dark - C.J. Roberts

Captive in the Dark (The Dark Duet, #1)
Serie: The Dark Duet #1 
Release date: 2011 
Stars: 5/5 

Caleb is a man with a singular interest in revenge. Kidnapped as a young boy and sold into slavery by a power-hungry mobster, he has thought of nothing but vengeance. For twelve years he has immersed himself in the world of pleasure slaves searching for the one man he holds ultimately responsible. Finally, the architect of his suffering has emerged with a new identity, but not a new nature. If Caleb is to get close enough to strike, he must become the very thing he abhors and kidnap a beautiful girl to train her to be all that he once was.

Eighteen-year-old Olivia Ruiz has just woken up in a strange place. Blindfolded and bound, there is only a calm male voice to welcome her. His name is Caleb, though he demands to be called Master. Olivia is young, beautiful, naïve and willful to a fault. She has a dark sensuality that cannot be hidden or denied, though she tries to accomplish both. Although she is frightened by the strong, sadistic, and arrogant man who holds her prisoner, what keeps Olivia awake in the dark is her unwelcome attraction to him.


I really don't read much erotica, but  I was quite intrigued with the synopsis and decided to read this one. It was a very dark and disturbing, but interesting book! That still doesn't do it justice. It was quite a captivating story and it takes you to dark places. It keeps you thinking and it's just WHOA!
The main character is Olivia, she has a very sad background story. Her mother has branded her a whore her whole life, despite the fact that Olivia is still a virgin. You learn how far Olivia was willing to go to please her mother and how she falls in love with her abuser and captiver! You'are just waiting for her to crack! The other character, Caleb is the one that captived Olivia. We should hate him, he is a sadistic, abusive basterd, but we learn a lot about Caleb and we hear his thoughts and understand what is going on in his head and how he had an afwul past. But justify that his actions? It's very hard to just see him as the arrogant asshole that he is. You read about Olivia falling in love with him and you start to wonder why but can't help but see the light in his darkness too.  You see why the story is disturbing? I mean how can you enjoy the book, when it's that disturbing? How can I enjoy it? I still don't know, I just had to know more and that kept me reading and yes even enjoying the story. Make no mistake, it's not a love story, it's a dark and taboo ridding story! Captive in the dark is full of conflicting emotions and the whole story is kind of controversial and you keep thinking about it. I find it very hard to write a review about it. I really am looking forward the read the second part, Seduced in the Dark and I really recommened Captive in the Dark!

A Fractured Light - Jocelyn Davies

A Fractured Light (A Beautiful Dark, #2)
Series: A Beautiful Dark #2

Release date: 2012

Stars: 2/5

When she wakes up in unfamiliar surroundings, Skye knows something terrible has happened to her. It's not until she hears Asher, the dark, rebellious angel she fell in love with, that the memories come flooding back. She tries to put the past behind her, but she knows she'll be forever haunted by the ruthless betrayal that almost took her life.

Skye returns home, but with the knowledge of who she really is, nothing can ever be the same. As she tests the limits of her newfound powers, Skye discovers that she's capable of far more than anyone could have imagined. Both the Order and the Rebellion want her for their side as war between the factions looms. She can't forget the terrifying truth she now knows about the Order, but something holds her back from embracing the Rebellion.


After reading A Beautiful Dark, the first book in this series, I really was looking forward to this second book. The cover is nice, as was the first one! The book however, is a huge disappointment! It had a ton of awesome potential, but most of it failed hard, only the end is suprisingly good. The suprising twist in the end should have been there throughout the entire book, maybe than it wasn't that bad. The book starts good and ends good, but the middle is lost to me. It took me 3 weeks to read the whole thing. I just couldn't put myself to finish it. The whole choosing thing for Skye with boys and sides, we had that already in the first book. It was kind of boring and really that was what the book was about. We didn't learn more about the Rebellion or the Order for that matter. Maybe the fans who love the first book, will love this second book, but I really can't imagine someone enjoyed it. For me, I'm done with it.

Graceling - Kristin Cashore

Graceling (Graceling Realm, #1)
Serie: Graceling Realm #1
Release date: 2008
Stars: 4/5 

His eyes, Katsa had never seen such eyes. One was silver, and the other, gold. They glowed in his sun-darkened face, uneven, and strange. She was surprised that they hadn't shone in the darkness of their first meeting. They didn't seem human.... Then he raised his eyebrows a hair, and his mouth shifted into the hint of a smirk. He nodded at her, just barely, and it released her from her spell. Cocky, she thought. Cocky and arrogant, this one, and that was all there was to make of him. Whatever game he was playing, if he expected her to join him he would be disappointed.

In a world where people born with an extreme skill - called a Grace - are feared and exploited, Katsa carries the burden of the skill even she despises: the Grace of killing. She lives under the command of her uncle Randa, King of the Middluns, and is expected to execute his dirty work, punishing and torturing anyone who displeases him.

When she first meets Prince Po, who is Graced with combat skills, Katsa has no hint of how her life is about to change. She never expects to become Po's friend. She never expects to learn a new truth about her own Grace - or about a terrible secret that lies hidden far away...a secret that could destroy all seven kingdoms with words alone.


Wow how I enjoyed this book! I've been very busy lately so I hadn't had time to write a lot of reviews. But I'm going to make it up to you the next few weeks! So Graceling, it's been a while when I read this one, but I remember the story quite well. I just loved so much about this book, I don't even know where to start. The story is well writen, with very fun and interesting characters to read about.  Katsa, the main character, is a very strong female character. She's independent and has a fierce determination. I really like books where the female character isn't the damsel in distress and can't think of her own. I instantly liked her, but I didn't agree with her take on everything. Like how she sees mariage as a prison. Also, Kristin Cashore displayes eveyrthing girly as a bad thing, I don't agree with that. I think you can be a tough ass girl, but also wear dresses or make up. The other important character in Graceling, was Po. I really liked him! The reason for all of his jewelry wearing, was a very interesting story. Cashore suprised me with her talent for writing with the development of the love story between Po and Katsa. I wasn't a instant love thing, but it developed slowly. The story was sometimes predictable, but many other times not. Some scenes where kind of sad, while others where funny and loving. The ending was just right, not rushed like many other books. I'm just so much in love with this book! If you've not yet read Graceling, please do so immediately!

dinsdag 9 oktober 2012

Inbetween - Tara Fuller

Inbetween (Kissed by Death, #1)Serie: Kissed by Death #1 
Release date: 2012 
Stars: 3/5 

Since the car crash that took her father’s life three years ago, Emma’s life has been a freaky — and unending — lesson in caution. Surviving “accidents” has taken priority over being a normal seventeen-year-old, so Emma spends her days taking pictures of life instead of living it. Falling in love with a boy was never part of the plan. Falling for a reaper who makes her chest ache and her head spin? Not an option.

It’s not easy being dead, especially for a reaper in love with a girl fate has put on his list not once, but twice. Finn’s fellow reapers give him hell about spending time with Emma, but Finn couldn’t let her die before, and he’s not about to let her die now. He will protect the girl he loves from the evil he accidentally unleashed, even if it means sacrificing the only thing he has left…his soul.

This was also a book I waited long enough for, and this one I actually liked. The blurb of Inbetween really took me in and I couldn't wait for the book. The plot line of this book reminded me of some other angel books, like Fallen. Where the girl is bein reincarnated as a human who doesn't remember anything from her past life and the guy who knows and remembers everything. So the story wasn't very original but it had still some unique stuff in it, so that I find it enjoyable. 
The characters are very interesting. The main characters are Finn and Emma. It's written from a dual perspective, which I really enjoyed! Finn is and endearing and intersting character. He has all t his guilt and sadness hanging around him, about the things that he did in the past. His love for Emma was very heartbreaking and touching. Emma was likeable, but kind of boring. The love between the two of them was sweet, but I would have liked it to develop slower. I wanted to learn more about the past love between them, but you got so little. It's kind of a sad love story. I just love seeing two character fall in love, how is developes and grows. But in this book that already happened in the past, so now it was just quick. 
The second characters are something. I really liked them and they sure made an impression! The story is very enjoyable and readable. The ending was a bit too nice in my opinion, but I really recommend the book!

Silver - Talia Vance

Silver (Bandia, #1)
Serie: Bandia #1
Release date: 2012
Stars: 2/5


As I step into the room, a silver flash blurs my vision. Before I can take a breath, the world falls away."

Brianna has always felt invisible. People stare right past her, including the one boy she can't resist, Blake Williams. But everything changes at a house party where Brianna's charm bracelet slips off and time stands still. In that one frozen, silver moment, Blake not only sees her, he recognizes something deep inside her she's been hiding even from herself.

Discovering she is descended from Danu, the legendary Bandia of Celtic myth, Brianna finds herself questioning the truth of who she is. And when she accidentally binds her soul to Blake, their mutual attraction becomes undeniable.

But Blake has his own secret, one that could prove deadly for them both.

Bound together by forbidden magic, Brianna and Blake find themselves at the heart of an ancient feud that threatens to destroy their lives and their love.


Silver was a book I was eagerly waiting for. The story seemed very interesting and unique. I really really wanted to love this book, but it ended up to be a huge disappointment. The story itself was okay, it was loaded with very interesting mythology and the writing wasn't all that bad. That's where the good stuff ends. Okay so first of all, the girlfriends. My god, they can't seriously be calling themselves friends. They where so shallow and just stereotypical. They treat the main character Brianna like shit. Then there was the fact that there was something going on with the mother of Haley, the leader of the group, but it was just that bad that it wasn't even interesting. Then there is the other friends Christy, who is just a slut and hasn't an opinion of herself. And what to say about the main character Brianna, she's ofcourse this beautiful girl who thinks she really is ugly. She got this bracelet her grandma gave her to wear to make herself look plain. The characters where just very unrealistic. Okay enough about the characters, there was also a love interest going on. Mostly they can make the book good, well not so much luck here. There was really a bad love triangle going on. There is Blake and there is Austin. Blake treats her like crap, but ofcourse she's in love with him. I really really didn't understand their connection. I couldn't feel the love between them, it was more like okay she should fall in love with him and so that's that. The other guy is Austin, I really liked him. He's sarcastic (which I mostly am and like) and just goes for her, but ofcourse she can't date him because her friends won't let her. So underneath all that crappy characterizations and love themes there was a story going on. The story itself wasn't so bad, but it didn't seem like the main point in the book. I have to say I enjoyed the mythology and the writing, but that's about it. I won't be reading the next one in this series.

dinsdag 18 september 2012

Eve - Anna Carey

Eve (Eve, #1) Serie: Eve #1
Release date: 2011
Stars: 2/5 

The year is 2032, sixteen years after a deadly virus—and the vaccine intended to protect against it—wiped out most of the earth’s population. The night before eighteen-year-old Eve’s graduation from her all-girls school she discovers what really happens to new graduates, and the horrifying fate that awaits her.

Fleeing the only home she’s ever known, Eve sets off on a long, treacherous journey, searching for a place she can survive. Along the way she encounters Caleb, a rough, rebellious boy living in the wild. Separated from men her whole life, Eve has been taught to fear them, but Caleb slowly wins her trust...and her heart. He promises to protect her, but when soldiers begin hunting them, Eve must choose between true love and her life.


It's kind of a disturbing story. First of all, the world building is kind of bad. I found it hard to believe that America could sink so low after just 16 years. I'm still not sure what kind of world it is that Eve lived it. Sure there was a plaque and that wiped most of the humans out and then they have to repopulate the world. The girls learn that man are bad and they have to stay in school. So that's where Eve is, almost 18 and ready for graduating. But then she finds out, that after graduating she can't be anything she wants to be. No! There is a horrifying fate waiting for her. So she escapes. I didn't like Eve at all. She's so shallow and really she ought to be smart (she was the smartest at school), but I didn't see it. For example, she thinks a baby bear looks like Winnie the Pooh. My god girl! And then all the hesitation, should I go with Caleb, should I do did, that? Then the part where she almost got raped and Caleb walks in on it and asks her if she liked the guy? She hesitates and then says I don't know. What that fuck was that? Can't she just tell, I was seconds away from being raped! Make up your mind girl! Like I said, she's almost 18, but it really looked like she was 12. She didn't know anything, she hung on Arden like that was her mother or something. Then ofcourse there is this hero guy Caleb. I have to say, I did like Caleb! He's not the over protective one. He's just a sweet guy, who really likes Eve. He's just saying everything how it is. Like when Caleb doesn't want Eve to go somewhere he just says it, but lets her make the decision. What I also liked in the book was the writing style. While the world building was lacking, the details of some scenes where beautifully written. It was an easy read! And then the ending, I hated it. I don't recommened the book and I'm sure as hell not going to read the next one.

maandag 17 september 2012

City of Lost Souls - Cassandra Clare

City of Lost Souls (The Mortal Instruments, #5)
Series: The Mortal Instruments #5
Release date: 2012
Stars: 4/5 

What price is too high to pay, even for love? 

When Jace and Clary meet again, Clary is horrified to discover that the demon Lilith’s magic has bound her beloved Jace together with her evil brother Sebastian, and that Jace has become a servant of evil. The Clave is out to destroy Sebastian, but there is no way to harm one boy without destroying the other. As Alec, Magnus, Simon, and Isabelle wheedle and bargain with Seelies, demons, and the merciless Iron Sisters to try to save Jace, Clary plays a dangerous game of her own. The price of losing is not just her own life, but Jace’s soul. She’s willing to do anything for Jace, but can she still trust him? Or is he truly lost?

Love. Blood. Betrayal. Revenge. Darkness threatens to claim the Shadowhunters in the harrowing fifth book of the Mortal Instruments series.


Finally the series contains City of Lost Souls. This book is much better than the last two.While the last two books I found myself skimming parts just to get over with it. With this installment, I found myself really wanting to keep reading. The only thing I found very annoying is the main character, Clary. She keept wining about losing Jace. And I get that, but really it took way too long. And that makes her age also an issue, because her 16 years doens't make it very believable. Lost Souls had much more meaningfull actions, scenes, conversations etc than the other books. Even though the book is a very long one, it never once stopped me for wanting more. I really liked in The Mortal Instruments, but especially in this book that there are so many characters you fall in love with. Like I said before, they all have that one something that makes them unique and loving and caring. I really like Isabelle and Simon, they are great together. I like how Clare writes about them, how difficult it is for both of them to start a relationship and how Clare not makes it a instant love, everything is great thing. I really like the gay couple Alec/Magnus, they bring the humor in the book, but Alec also add a very serious aspect. Overall, Lost Souls is a great improvement over Fallen Angels. I'm really looking forward to the last book in the series and ofcourse the movies!

City of Fallen Angels - Cassandra Clare

City of Fallen Angels (The Mortal Instruments, #4)Series: The Mortal Instruments #4
Release date: 2011
Stars: 3/5

The Mortal War is over, and sixteen-year-old Clary Fray is back home in New York, excited about all the possibilities before her. She's training to become a Shadowhunter and to use her unique power. Her mother is getting married to the love of her life. Downworlders and Shadowhunters are at peace at last. And - most importantly of all - she can finally call Jace her boyfriend.

But nothing comes without a price. Someone is murdering Shadowhunters who used to be in Valentine's Circle, provoking tensions between Downworlders and Shadowhunters that could lead to a second bloody war. Clary's best friend, Simon, can't help her. His mother just found out that he's a vampire and now he's homeless. Everywhere he turns, someone wants him on their side - along with the power of the curse that's wrecking his life. And they're willing to do anything to get what they want. At the same time he's dating two beautiful, dangerous girls - neither of whom knows about the other one.


When Jace begins to pull away from Clary without explaining why, she is forced to delve into the heart of a mystery whose solution reveals her worst nightmare: She herself has set in motion a terrible chain of events that could lead to her losing everything she loves. Even Jace.


After the disappointment of City of Glass, I hoped that City of Fallen Angels turned out to be better. It wasn't much better. I mean I still like the series and the plot and everything is okay. The world of the shadowhunters is very good and unique and I really liked it, but I think this is an example of a series what should've ended sooner. It keeps dragging on. In the beginning of City of Fallen Angels everything is good. The war is over, Clary and Jace can be together. Simon has kind of accepted everything. Her mother is okay and marrying Luke. But than, suprise! Someone is spoiling everything and killing along his way. With Simon everything turns out to be bad. Jace isn't a great boyfriend anymore. Everything is falling apart. And who is the cause? It's kind of predictable and yet I keep reading the series, because the writing style is great. The characters are nice and the plot is okay. I really am curious to see how the movies are turning out to be! I still think the first two books are the better ones in The Mortal Instruments.

City of Glass - Cassandra Clare

City of Glass (The Mortal Instruments, #3)
Serie: The Mortal Instruments #3
Release date: 2009 
Stars: 3/5 

To save her mother's life, Clary must travel to the City of Glass, the ancestral home of the Shadowhunters - never mind that entering the city without permission is against the Law, and breaking the Law could mean death. To make things worse, she learns that Jace does not want her there, and Simon has been thrown in prison by the Shadowhunters, who are deeply suspicious of a vampire who can withstand sunlight.

As Clary uncovers more about her family's past, she finds an ally in mysterious Shadowhunter Sebastian. With Valentine mustering the full force of his power to destroy all Shadowhunters forever, their only chance to defeat him is to fight alongside their eternal enemies. But can Downworlders and Shadowhunters put aside their hatred to work together? While Jace realizes exactly how much he's willing to risk for Clary, can she harness her newfound powers to help save the Glass City - whatever the cost?

So I really really liked that first and the second book in The Mortal Instruments series. I'm a bit dissappointed with City of Glass. In the last book, Clary and Jace got the know the truth and couldn't be with eachother the way the would. That sucked big time and it was a really sad part. On top of that her mother was in coma, Simon turned into a vampire. I started to wonder if there was anything else that could go wrong. Well obviously that turned out to be a BIG YES. In City of Glass everyone is going to the City of Glass, the home of the shadowhunters. Save Clary's mom, stop the evil and all that. So what goes wrong? Well Jace doesn't want Clary to go, because it's to dangerous and all that. It's just to much drama in this book. I liked it, I mean how can someone not like Clary's story and the world of the shadowhunters? There is a lot of action and it starts early. There are a lot of twists and turns and I liked that. I really thought that in City of Glass everything was very predictable. I mean I saw what the third Motal Instrument was ways ahead of Clary. And the end wasn't a big suprise for me, while it should be a great big satisfying conclusion. I'm curious to see what the fourth book is turning out to be.

City of Ashes - Cassandra Clare

City of Ashes (The Mortal Instruments, #2)
Serie: The Mortal Instruments #2
Release date: 2008 
Stars: 4/5

Clary Fray just wishes that her life would go back to normal. But what's normal when you're a demon-slaying Shadowhunter, your mother is in a magically induced coma, and you can suddenly see Downworlders like werewolves, vampires, and faeries? If Clary left the world of the Shadowhunters behind, it would mean more time with her best friend, Simon, who's becoming more than a friend. But the Shadowhunting world isn't ready to let her go — especially her handsome, infuriating, newfound brother, Jace. And Clary's only chance to help her mother is to track down rogue Shadowhunter Valentine, who is probably insane, certainly evil — and also her father.

To complicate matters, someone in New York City is murdering Downworlder children. Is Valentine behind the killings — and if he is, what is he trying to do? When the second of the Mortal Instruments, the Soul-Sword, is stolen, the terrifying Inquisitor arrives to investigate and zooms right in on Jace. How can Clary stop Valentine if Jace is willing to betray everything he believes in to help their father?

Okay, so after reading City of Bones we now know more about Clary, Jace and the shadowhunter's world. Also we learned about the evil one, Valentine, who happens to be her father. Wow this second book was really something. Clary's know that the most evil person in her world is her one father and then the one she loves turns against her and she can't be with Jace. It's a very difficult time for Clary in this book. I really loved to read how Clary struggles with everything and how unfair life can be for her. The tension in the book is really alive and I felt it. There are so many characters, but they all have some unique character that makes them so great and loyal. You get to know a lot of the characters more. The plot is also very interesting. What is the evil plan of Valentine? What does he wants to do with the mortal instruments? There is a lot of actions and drama scenes, but also humor and love. You get to know a lot more about Jace and his familie and there is some really dramatic events unfolding in City of Ashes. I really liked the second book better than the first.

City of Bones - Cassandra Clare

City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments, #1)
Series: The Mortal Instruments #1
Release date: 2007
Stars: 4/5

When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder -- much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It's hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing -- not even a smear of blood -- to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?

This is Clary's first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It's also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace's world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know. . . .

After reading all the good reviews of Cassandra Clare series and really she just kept popping up everywhere, so I decided to start with her Mortal Instruments series. I mean the cover really wasn't doin' it for me! So City of Bones was the first book I read about her, and I have to give it to her, it really is a great book. I have to think a bit what this book was about, because I liked the serie so much I read it in a few days. What I liked most about the book is the world Cassandra created. The world of the shadowhunters is unique and very interesting. Shadowhunters are half angel and half people. The story is full of actions and you get to now more about the beautifull and twisting full world of the shadowhunters. There are werewolves and vampires in the story also, but the author's take on is different than I encountered before. Some parts were a bit predictable, but I didn't mind it at all. The main character Clary, I liked her very much. Could easily relate to her. She remains very strong throughout the book, even though there were a lot of shocking moments for her. What I didn't understand is that Clary is supposed to be only 15 years. I can't really relate to that, but maybe that's just me. So ofcourse there has to be a boy in the book and that is Jace. He's really something. Strong to the outside, but he can be soft on the inside. When I finished this one, I immidiately picked up the second book. I highly recommened the series! Oh and what I'm really looking forward to is that they are making a movie of the series!! How cool is that?!

dinsdag 11 september 2012

Exiled - RaShelle Workman

Exiled (Immortal Essence, #1)
Serie: Immortal Essence #1
Release date: 2011  
Stars: 3/5 

Worlds divided them. Chance brought them together. Only love will save them.

An alien princess exiled to Earth.
An arrogant boy.
One week to get back to her planet or she'll die.
And, her only chance for survival? She must help the boy find his soul mate.
Piece of cake!

Stubborn, sixteen-year-old Princess Venus of Kelari wants one thing, to become immortal, that is, until someone exiles her to Earth, kills her irrihunter and takes her family. 

Now she wants revenge. First she’s got to get home. But before she can return to Kelari, the Gods have commanded her to help an arrogant boy named Michael find his soul mate. 
Only she doesn't know the first thing about love.

Rather quickly, her inexperience with human emotion is obscured by other matters--alien-controlled psychotic teens that are out to kill her, and a government group that is set on capturing and dissecting her. Worst of all, Venus will suffer a painful death-by-poisoning, thanks to Earth’s atmosphere, if she remains on the planet longer than one week. Still, Venus is a Princess and she's got a plan. Surely, with her help, Michael will fall in love with a human.

But time is running out and Michael is falling for the wrong girl--her.


I really really don't know how to feel about this book! I mean, the cover is just sooo gorgeous. And it seems like a really good story. Don't get me wrong, I don't mean that it's a bad story. It was just... weird. After Jennifer Armentrout made the alien race look like a 'hot' race I decided to pick this book about aliens up. The descriptions in the book are very well done. I mean I could get a very good picture of Kelari, what the alien race looked like and the landscape and everything. So it started out good. You get to meet Venus, the main character. Venus is an interesting character, who lacks emotions on her planet. When she gets exiled to Earth she comes in contact with the human emotions and reacts strongly to that. I really liked that Zaren had to teach her the difference between physical reactions to boys and the development of deeper feelings. You get to see her stumple with the human emotions and I really liked to see where things where going. So her big project was Michael. I didn't like him, he was very shallow. I really couldn't relate with him and didn't understand him. The love that was developing between Michael and Venus was beyond me. The thing that was most disturbing where the switching of PoVs. It seemed kind of pointless the different PoVs. Venus was much more interesting than the rest. The chapters where kind of weird to, it seemed very random when a chapter started or ended. Now it looks like I didn't enjoy the book, but I did. The story itself was very unique and interesting. RaShelle makes the alien race totally different and everything about it was very interesting. I really hope the second book in this series is going to be better with the characters and the chapters.

Winter's Shadow - M.J. Hearle

Winter's Shadow (Winter Saga, #1)
Serie: Winter Saga #1
Release date: 2011
Stars: 4/5

Blake Duchamp...

He's all that Winter Adams can think of. Ever since their fateful meeting at Pilgrim's Lament. Ever since he looked at her with those emerald eyes. Ever since he saved her life.

But Blake isn't all that he seems. There is a strangeness about him, something dark and otherworldly. Something dangerous. In his attic is a secret he would kill to defend, but Winter seems to have a special ability to make him forget his duty. And he is her only protection against the gathering darkness.

The only problem is, to protect Winter, Blake must risk exposing her to an even greater danger. Himself.


I've waited a very long time for this one and finally I got this book! The cover is just stunning! It's the first young adult paranormal romance book that I've read that's been written by a man. I only found out at the end of the story that is was written by a man!! It starts out familiar. There is a dark brooding hero and a girl with a sad past. And ofcourse they are drawn to each other. The romantic hero has a secret and must keep the girl away from him, just to keep her safe. But.. thinks get very interesting in this book. The main character Winter is a very nice girl and your typical shy girl. She lost her parent in a tragic accident. She has insecurties about her looks and likes to be invisible. I liked that she was so self aware. She knew her faults and recognizes other's faults. She meets Blake, the dark romantic hero. He's mysterious and I really wanted to know what his secret was! I liked the fact that there where glimpses into someone's past. I really liked reading about Madeleine and her love, it was very unique. Where things got an interesting turn, was when the cats showed up. Picture an garden full and full of cats. I really liked the aspect of cats as guardians. The ending took a great twist and I really want to read the next book in the series!

zondag 26 augustus 2012

Before I fall - Lauren Oliver

Before I FallBook: Before I fall
Release date: 2011
Stars: 4/5


What if you only had one day to live? What would you do? Who would you kiss? And how far would you go to save your own life?

Samantha Kingston has it all: looks, popularity, the perfect boyfriend. Friday, February 12, should be just another day in her charmed life. Instead, it turns out to be her last.

The catch: Samantha still wakes up the next morning. Living the last day of her life seven times during one miraculous week, she will untangle the mystery surrounding her death—and discover the true value of everything she is in danger of losing.


I read mostly books of the paranormal genre, but sometimes I like a good contemporary book. This was definitely a good book and I really enjoyed reading it. The main character is Samantha, Sam, and she is really just a bitch. She and her friends are the popular girls of school and they are really mean girls. I love that the main character isn't this perfect friendly and good female. Lauren Oliver writes about every nasty act and trick of Sam and isn't downplaying it. I really liked that. The story begins with Sam and how bitchy she is and then something tragic happens, she dies in a accident and has to relive that day again. You hardly feel bad for her, because she kind of got what she deserves. But then she has to relive that day again and again untill she understand what she has to do to break that 'curse'. The book is told in seven chapters, each representing the same day. You see Sam growing in everyday and she realises what a hurt she did to many people and wants to make it right. The character growth was drastic, but very believable. The end was just right. I really loved this book and I definitely recommend it!

Ethereal - Addison Moore

Ethereal (Celestra, #1)
Serie: Celestra #1
Release date: 2011
Stars: 0/5 

Sixteen-year-old, Skyla Messenger is a dead girl walking.

When her newly remarried mother moves the family to Paragon Island, to a house that is rumored to be haunted, Skyla finds refuge in Logan Oliver, a boy who shares her unique ability to read minds.

Skyla discovers Logan holds the answers to the questions she’s been looking for, but Logan’s reluctance to give her the knowledge she desires leaves her believing Logan has a few secrets of his own.

Skyla’s bloodlines may just be connected to the most powerful angelic beings that roam the earth, and the more she knows, the more danger she seems to be in.

Suddenly an entire faction of earthbound angels wants her dead, at least she still has Logan, or does she?


Please don't read this book, it was so awfull! I read mixed reviews about Ethereal and decided to give it a shot, really I wish I hadn't. The main character Skyla is just this perfect beautiful girl who falls immediately in love with two hot guys. Oh gosh wich one should she choose and sleep with? I really hate instant love relationships! I mean she met Logan and then a few pages later they where already making out. That is really what the book is about, making out with Logan and Logan and Cage fighting over Skyla. I wasn't connecting with the Skyla at all, nothing what she did made any sense. She was boring and needy. Skyla moves into a house where a murdered girl lives and the best friend of this murdered girl runs right over at Skyla and becomes best friends with her for some reason unknown to me. The author tried to add a paranormal aspects in it, but failed miserably with it. I mean the whole reading minds thing, I don't know where that came from. The plot wasn't working. I saw everything from miles coming and Skyla was still figuring it out. The characters weren't working. This book should just be destroyed. I can't name one thing that was good about it, even the cover is boring. Seriously, don't read this!

zaterdag 25 augustus 2012

Onyx - Jennifer Armentrout

Onyx (Lux, #2)Serie: Lux #2
Release date: 2012
Stars: 5/5 

Being connected to Daemon Black sucks…

Thanks to his alien mojo, Daemon’s determined to prove what he feels for me is more than a product of our bizarro connection. So I’ve sworn him off, even though he’s running more hot than cold these days. But we’ve got bigger problems.

Something worse than the Arum has come to town…

The Department of Defense are here. If they ever find out what Daemon can do and that we're linked, I’m a goner. So is he. And there's this new boy in school who’s got a secret of his own. He knows what’s happened to me and he can help, but to do so, I have to lie to Daemon and stay away from him. Like that's possible. Against all common sense, I'm falling for Daemon. Hard.

But then everything changes…

I’ve seen someone who shouldn’t be alive. And I have to tell Daemon, even though I know he’s never going to stop searching until he gets the truth. What happened to his brother? Who betrayed him? And what does the DOD want from them—from me?

No one is who they seem. And not everyone will survive the lies…


Hello guys, I'm back from Spain and while I was in Spain I read Onyx and god did I love it as much as I anticipated! So I really couldn't wait for this book to come out and when the date finally arrived I totally got this book on my holiday and was being a not so nice girlfriend to my boyfriend, because I just had to read this book. I really enjoyed the tense moments between Daemon and Katy, I love when Daemon calls her Kitty hehe. The moments between them are just plain hot and while there were many moments I can't help but feel like wanting more and more! The book picks up right where Obsidian ended. Katy is still being connected with Daemon and Daemon really goes for Katy. I love him, seriously how could someone not! The whole development of Katy and her alien mojo is very interesting and I'm curious to see where that is heading. And also the whole someone who is still alive (can't spoill who) made the book so much better. Also the new character in the book who tries to make a move on Katy makes the book very juicy. Daemon is jealous! I like it! You really couldn't tell what happened next most of the time and I like that. The whole alien concept is still hot the way Armentrout describes it! If I have to name one less thing about the book, I'll have to say the end. I saw it coming from miles! It was very predictable and while I expected it to happen it still sucked because it's a huge cliffhanger! I can't wait for the next one!

vrijdag 10 augustus 2012

Holiday!

Hello guys,

I'm going on a holiday to Tenerife, so unfortunately there won't be any blogging going on for the next three weeks. Luckily I have time to read a lot of books while I'm lying at the beach. So there will be coming up a lot of reviews when I'm back!

Untill then, happy reading!

-Sharissa

donderdag 2 augustus 2012

Pushing the Limits - Kate McGarry

Pushing the LimitsBook: Pushing the Limits
Release date: 2012

Stars: 5/5

"I won't tell anyone, Echo. I promise." Noah tucked a curl behind my ear. It had been so long since someone touched me like he did. Why did it have to be Noah Hutchins? His dark brown eyes shifted to my covered arms. "You didn't do that-did you? It was done to you?" No one ever asked that question. They stared. They whispered. They laughed. But they never asked.

So wrong for each other...and yet so right.

No one knows what happened the night Echo Emerson went from popular girl with jock boyfriend to gossiped-about outsider with "freaky" scars on her arms. Even Echo can't remember the whole truth of that horrible night. All she knows is that she wants everything to go back to normal. But when Noah Hutchins, the smoking-hot, girl-using loner in the black leather jacket, explodes into her life with his tough attitude and surprising understanding, Echo's world shifts in ways she could never have imagined. They should have nothing in common. And with the secrets they both keep, being together is pretty much impossible.Yet the crazy attraction between them refuses to go away. And Echo has to ask herself just how fa
r they can push the limits and what she'll risk for the one guy who might teach her how to love again


I've waited forever for this book to come out! And now I've finally read it and it was as good as I anticipated! God what a great book and what an emotional rollecoaster! You get to read the story of Noah and Echo and from both of their point of view, which I really really liked! They are both inspirtational characters who learned how to work on themselves, but also how to trust each other. They were both smart and cautious about many things. You read about how they are dealing with multiple problems of their own and problems of each other. It was great to read how much they developed troughout the book! They story was also great, I really enjoyed the read! Echo has been through an extremely distressing life altering situation and troughout the story you've get to learn more about Echo's memory of the event. Her story is really heartbreaking and I had to pink away a few tears.  Noah wants only to take care of his brothers and his story is totally different than Echo's. Yet it's equally beautiful to read about. His story is also heartbreaking and frustrating and soon I found myself relating with Noah. The love story in Pushing the Limits is just right! It's not right there, but slowly building. This is true love in all it's beautifull and ugly form. It's love with sacrifices and comprimises, but also with passion and heat. All I want to say is that you should definitely read this book!

dinsdag 31 juli 2012

Abandon - Meg Cabot

Abandon (Abandon Trilogy, #1)
Serie: Abandon Trilogy #1
Release date: 2011
Stars: 3/5

Though she tries returning to the life she knew before the accident, Pierce can't help but feel at once a part of this world, and apart from it. Yet she's never alone... because someone is always watching her. Escape from the realm of the dead is impossible when someone there wants you back.

But now she's moved to a new town. Maybe at her new school, she can start fresh. Maybe she can stop feeling so afraid.

Only she can't. Because even here, he finds her. That's how desperately he wants her back. She knows he's no guardian angel, and his dark world isn't exactly heaven, yet she can't stay away... especially since he always appears when she least expects it, but exactly when she needs him most.

But if she lets herself fall any further, she may just find herself back in the one place she most fears: the Underworld.

This book kind of frustrated me. You see I'm a huge sucker for romance and mythology and well this book has it all. The story revolves around the story of Hades & Persephone, and really after reading the Goddess Test I couldn't get enough of that story. That's kind of the reason why I picked this book. That and ofcourse the beautiful cover and the intriguing synopsis. So the story was okay, but let me tell you why the word frustrating keeps popping up while I'm trying to write a review. You have to understand that I really like books with a lot of flashbacks, so you get the story a little step at a time. There were a lot of flashbacks in Abadon, but they were somehow very frustrating for me, like there were to much of them! You only get information through the flashbacks. Also, the main character Pierce (like the name though) is kind of childish. Sure I know she's suppose to be 17, but it seems she's much younger. She's very difficult to relate to. Still I couldn't help but be interested in her story. Then there is John, really I hate that he is named John! He's the keeper of the Underworld, not Hades like I innitialy thought. He's the mysterious hot guy. I kind of like him, with his funny remarks. Another think I didn't like about the book is the instant love thing that's going on! I mean that's so not realistic and I hate it when that's going on in the books! I have to admit that I liked that they didn't kiss for a very long time, so the tension is building to the moment they finally kiss! Okay when I'm rereading my review it looks like I don't like the book. Let's get this straight, there were some point that made the book not awesome, but it's an okay book. The story is nice and the characters are nice and I'm proparbly going to read the next book in the series, cause really the end is kind of a cliffhanger. Do I recommend it? Well maybe for the ones who like to read a story with the Hades and Persephone mythology and who want to read a fun book just to kill time.

vrijdag 27 juli 2012

Until I Die - Amy Plum

Until I Die (Revenants, #2)Serie: Revenants #2
Release date: 2012


Kate and Vincent have overcome the odds and at last they are together in Paris, the city of lights and love.

As their romance deepens there’s one question they can’t ignore: How are they supposed to be together if Vincent can’t resist sacrificing himself to save others? Although Vincent promises that he’ll do whatever it takes to lead a normal life with Kate, will that mean letting innocent people die? When a new and surprising enemy reveals itself, Kate realizes that even more may be at stake—and that Vincent’s immortality is in jeopardy.

In Die for Me, Amy Plum created a captivating paranormal mythology with immortal revenants and a lush Paris setting. Until I Die is poised to thrill readers with more heart-pounding suspense, spellbinding romance, and a cliff-hanger ending that will leave them desperate for the third and final novel in the series.


After reading Die For Me, I really couldn't wait to read this one. This cover is even better than the last! I read this book in one day and that is a good sign. I couldn't put the book down, I wanted more of Kate and Vincent! In Until I die, we learn tons more about the Revenant and in addition there is greater character development. I really like that we still have the gorgeous Paris setting. It's a great addition to the story. We learn more about the Revenant and by that I mean mnore about the history and background. We also learn more about the characters. Jules and Georgia are more present in Until I Die. I really like Jules, he's so sweet and has lots of humour. I was really glad that the romance in this second book was much more passionate, I'm a huge sucker for romance so I'm really greatfull! The ending is really shocking and it will make you long for the final book! I really love how Amy made such an ending, though it was really frustrating I can see why she made the end the way she did. Until I Die was a really good book, with lots of emotions!

donderdag 19 juli 2012

Die for Me - Amy Plum

Die for Me (Revenants, #1)Series: Revenants #1
Release date: 2011
 
In the City of Lights, two star-crossed lovers battle a fate that is destined to tear them apart again and again for eternity.

When Kate Mercier's parents die in a tragic car accident, she leaves her life--and memories--behind to live with her grandparents in Paris. For Kate, the only way to survive her pain is escaping into the world of books and Parisian art. Until she meets Vincent.
Mysterious, charming, and devastatingly handsome, Vincent threatens to melt the ice around Kate's guarded heart with just his smile. As she begins to fall in love with Vincent, Kate discovers that he's a revenant--an undead being whose fate forces him to sacrifice himself over and over again to save the lives of others. Vincent and those like him are bound in a centuries-old war against a group of evil revenants who exist only to murder and betray. Kate soon realizes that if she follows her heart, she may never be safe again

This book has an amazing, dead - gorgeous cover! The colours, the girl, the dress, it just has it all! Still the story didn't appeal to me. I don't like zombie books or movies, so it took me a very long time to pick this book up. I'm really glad I did! Not only is the cover amazing, the story is good. Not amazing, but good enough to keep me reading and picking up the second book in the series. The concept, the way the undead where lay out, was truly unique and intriguing. I really liked the descriptions of the Paris settings, very romantic and gorgeous. It gave extra charm to this story. Also it was a refreshing change from the usual high school setting. There was talk about art, museums and Cafe's and ofcourse the house of Vincent. Kate is the main character and I really liked that she thought everything through, she was not just some stupid teenager who rushed into things. The thought about the consequences before making a decision. She was smart, strong and just real. Vincent, gosh what can I say about him. He's this hot mysterious guy, very sexy with a french accent and really sweet. The romance between the two of them isn't a love at first sight thing, it's growing and just so sweet. The end was good two and I immidiately picked up the second book in this serie. Overall, Die for me is a great book with a unique concept about the undead and romantic scenes.

maandag 16 juli 2012

Goddess Interrupted - Aimee Carter

Goddess Interrupted (Goddess Test, #2) Serie: Goddess Test #2
Release date: 2012


KATE WINTERS HAS WON IMMORTALITY.

BUT IF SHE WANTS A LIFE WITH HENRY IN THE UNDERWORLD, SHE'LL HAVE TO FIGHT FOR IT.

Becoming immortal wasn't supposed to be the easy part. Though Kate is about to be crowned Queen of the Underworld, she's as isolated as ever. And despite her growing love for Henry, ruler of the Underworld, he's becoming ever more distant and secretive. Then, in the midst of Kate's coronation, Henry is abducted by the only being powerful enough to kill him: the King of the Titans.

As the other gods prepare for a war that could end them all, it is up to Kate to save Henry from the depths of Tartarus. But in order to navigate the endless caverns of the Underworld, Kate must enlist the help of the one person who is the greatest threat to her future.

Henry's first wife, Persephone.


Oh Gosh this book is such an emotional rollecoaster. I laughed and I cried and I was frustrated and relieved! I read this book in one breath and was up most of the night. I think the author did a really good job of taking some elements of the Greek Mythology and mixed it with new elements. It's a really good book! I really looked forward to the reunion of Kate and Henry, but it wasn't what I expected at all! Henry was kind of a ass in the most part of this book, he became distant and didn't confide in Kate. That was very frustrating! Because of that Kate is doubting herself and Henry's love for her. On top of that she has to find the first love of Henry and her only sister Persephone. I really felt for Kate and she was very strong. There was one particular scene that was so heartbreaking! It was a scene between Henry and Persephone, which Kate had to witness and I cried really hard! It was so sad. In Goddess Interrupted Kate grows into a independent, stubborn, selfless and strong person who is determined not to lose anyone else she loves. Henry was seductive and secretive as always, but sometimes really frustrating because he doesn't say what he feels! Then there is this whole thing with Persephone going on. You see him struggling and sometimes he took some stupid moves, that made me feel like slapping him in the face! But then again, he can be really sweet! Goddess interrupted is a really great book which leaves you hanging with a huge cliffhanger! The end is just so right and yet so frustrating because now I have to wait till 2013!

The Goddess Hunt - Aimee Carter

The Goddess Hunt (Goddess Test, #1.5)
Series: Goddess Test #1.5

Release date: 2012


A vacation in Greece sounds like the perfect way for Kate Winters to spend her first sabbatical away from the Underworld...until she gets caught up in an immortal feud going back millennia. Castor and Pollux have been on the run from Zeus and Hades' wrath for centuries, hiding from the gods who hunt them. The last person they trust is Kate, the new Queen of the Underworld. Nevertheless, she is determined to help their cause. But when it comes to dealing with immortals, Kate still has a lot to learn....

 This is a short story between The Goddess Test and The Goddess Interupted. If you have a change to read this one, I highly recommened it! In The Goddess Hunt you get to read from Henry's point of view and I really liked that! He brings a different perspective to the goings-on within the book. Now you just get to know him more, his feelings and thought about everything. I still like Kate, she's a fiercy girl. I love how she stand up for everything she believes and doesn't let power stand in the way of that. So this story is about Kate's six months off and she spents it in Greece with James. I really like James but I hope it's not going to be a love triangle! So far there's not such a thing! They stumble upon other Gods in this book and Kate decides to rescue them! You just have to read it for yourselves, it's a great addition to the series! After this book I really was looking forward to the next one! So I recommened the series highly!

vrijdag 13 juli 2012

The Goddess Test - Aimee Carter

The Goddess Test (Goddess Test, #1)Serie: Goddess Test #1
Release date: 2011


EVERY GIRL WHO HAS TAKEN THE TEST HAS DIED.

It's always been just Kate and her mom--and her mother is dying. Her last wish? To move back to her childhood home. So Kate's going to start at a new school with no friends, no other family and the fear that her mother won't live past the fall.

Then she meets Henry. Dark. Tortured. And mesmerizing. He claims to be Hades, god of the Underworld--and if she accepts his bargain, he'll keep her mother alive while Kate tries to pass seven tests.

Kate is sure he's crazy--until she sees him bring a girl back from the dead. Now saving her mother seems crazily possible. If she suceeds, she'll become Henry's future bride and a goddess.

IF SHE FAILS...


This one kept popping up by my recommondations and really I didn't feel like reading this one, so I kept putting it away. Finally I decided I should give it a change and Goshhh I really really liked it! It's not the first book I wouldn't want to read and it turned out to be a great book (see a trend going on!!). So let's start with the Greek Mythology, I've always had a love of that and this book is a good one for Greek Mythology lovers. The story is about Kate, she's a responsible girl who always puts everyone first. There wasn't anything annoying about Kate and the emotions she showed was absolutely captivating. Another amazing character is Henry, he's so mysterious and lonely. And very sexy hihi. You feel he's hurting and you just want to help him and Kate. There was a part where Kate failed a test and that part was so heartbreaking, I almost cried! The story is just so full of emotions and details! The end is so suprising and yet it feels just right. Really this one is a must read!

dinsdag 10 juli 2012

Taken at Dusk - C.C. Hunter

Taken at Dusk (Shadow Falls, #3)Serie: Shadow Falls #3
Release date: 2012 

Kylie Galen wants the truth so badly she can taste it. The truth about who her real family is, the truth about which boy she’s meant to be with—and the truth about what her emerging powers mean. But she’s about to discover that some secrets can change your life forever…and not always for the better.

Just when she and Lucas are finally getting close, she learns that his pack has forbidden them from being together. Was it a mistake to pick him over Derek? And it’s not just romance troubling Kylie. An amnesia-stricken ghost is haunting her, delivering the frightful warning, someone lives and someone dies. As Kylie races to unravel the mystery and protect those she loves, she finally unlocks the truth about her supernatural identity, which is far different—and more astonishing—than she ever imagined.


With the first book, Born at Midnight, C.C. Hunter drew me in the world of Shadow Falls. I instantly fell in love with the character, the world, the developments. The second book, Awake at Dawn was even better. Now I've read Taken at Dusk and really I can't wait for the fourth book to come out! Kylie, the main character, developes so much more in Taken at Dusk. You read about her struggling with the ghosts, her journey and her identity. I found myself easily relate with her and her story. You learn more about Kylie self and her family. She discovers new powers and eventually learns more about her true identity. While we find out what Kylie is, it's still vague and not what I expected at all. I really think it's going to be more explained in the following installment, Whispers at Moonrise. I can't point out enough that in this third book of the series it's also about so many things. Not just about her love life, but also about the problems of her friends, her camp leader, her parents, her own problems and yeah her love life. But it's still not the main issue and I really like that for a change! I have to say that I've come to pick a side, while I said I loved Derek and Lucas both, I'm now more of a team Derek. Can't help it really with his sweet character. Taken at Dusk is full of twist and thrills and I really recommened the book, the series!

Versatile Blogger Award!

Yeahh my first award! I've been nominated for the Versatile Blogger Award! Thank you so much booksaremybestfriend

There are a few rules one must follow before accepting the award and they are as follows.
1. Nominate 15 fellow bloggers who are relatively new to blogging
2. Let the nominated bloggers know that they have been nominated for the award.
3. Share 7 random facts about yourself.
4.Thank the blogger who has nominated you.
5. Add the Versatile Blogger Award picture to your post.

7 Random facts about myself
1. I love cats
2. My favorite color changes with my mood, today it's red
3. When I'm nervous I bite my lips
4. My favorite chocolate is white chocolate
5. I'm not a morning person
6. I love cookies
7. I'm scared of spiders

15 Blogger Nominations
1. (un) Conventional Bookviews
2.  The new haven project
3.  Teenyreader
4.  Rambling of a book junkie
5.  Lacyshoelaces
6. Living for the books
7.  The story siren
8. Framed in words
9. Books, books and more books
10.Pages from my thought
11.Twilight book junkie
12. Rageous
13. Reading infection
14. Ravenfic
15. You only write so much

vrijdag 6 juli 2012